Leaping into Creativity

© 2013 Carolyn Moore

Today is the first day of my new life. Life without a steady job – intentionally pursuing a lifestyle that I find joy in – writing & encouraging other creative people to take risks and share their stories and their art with this chaotic world – a world that is desperately seeking connection and meaning.

Risky? Yes, because as most people have, there are bills to pay, mouths to feed, and cars to keep running. Worth it? Absolutely. At this point in my life I’m more aware of how precious time is and I won’t waste a moment more on unfulfilling pursuits. I’m ready to expose myself to the world to make a difference. Fear of failure? Absolutely present, but I rely on the accounts of other artists and innovators (ie. Stephen King, Joyce Carol Oates, Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison) who have illustrated that what we term as failures are truly the learning process that leads to successes. I also firmly believe in my calling to encourage other women and my need to pursue this full-time.

So let the fun begin! I’m looking forward to the stretching, the growing pains, and the learning – and hope to stir up others along the way.

What are YOU creating today? What motivates you to create?

Create joyfully today!

– Carol

© 2013 Carolyn Moore

Favorite post of the day:
If you’re a writer, read and share fellow Burlington College alum Kristi Petersen Schoonover’s post – Writers: 7 hardly-mentioned tips for submitting to zines. Kristi is an amazing fiction writer whose horror prose is jaw dropping. I highly recommend reading her book Skeletons in the Swimmin’ Hole: Tales from Haunted Disney World.

, ,

  1. #1 by Donna Highfill on March 25, 2013 - 11:38 am

    Good for you, Carol! I made this same decision about a year ago. As I’m getting to the end of my savings it’s getting a little scary, but I don’t regret a minute of it. We need more storytellers, more inspirational writers, more people to make this a better world. I’m glad you’re here!!

    • #2 by Carolyn Moore on March 25, 2013 - 1:19 pm

      Thanks, Donna! It’s good to hear about others making the same leap! Yes, as a newly single woman coming out of 10 years of homeschooling and part-time and freelance jobs, I understand the fear factor, but prior to losing my mom a few weeks ago, I just had a realization that I can’t waste anymore time waiting for the perfect moment or story or opportunity to launch my life. I am celebrating reinventing my life! Thanks for being a part of that and I look forward to discovering your blog also. – Carol

